A SWEET DEVOURING – RAS MALAI

The hardest part of the journey is taking the first step..

                                                                                – by Anonymous..

From the last few weeks i have realized the truth behind the above quote. Its been weeks since i have been trying to write a decent first post to give a kick start to my blog, and in the past few days i have realized that no post will be at par with my expectations…. its too difficult to put my thoughts, my journey , my love for cooking in a single post.. so i thought why not share it with many more post that i will write..  🙂

For the first post.. i would like to share my inspiration for cooking.

Well as they say,

DAD- A son’s first hero and a daughter’s first love…

In my case , my dad is my first love, my inspiration, my guide, my rock , my hero too 😛 …

My dad loves cooking, likes to experiment with food and putting colours on the plate.In my childhood days , every weekend dad used to prepare big weekend lunche for us giving mum a break from her daily routine.. from there i started my cooking journey too.. spending time with him in kitchen ,learning quick tips and tricks from him…  Even now, he supports me in my cooking , encouraging me to try new things, always ready to go to the shop whenever i order him around for the stuff.. always ready to try experiments and claiming they taste really good (even if my dish turns out bad) 🙂

Thats a father for you.. mine is no different. Sometimes i get really irritated when my dish is not turning out the way i thought, he is there by my side, sometimes silently praying that a miracle happens and the dish turns out perfect to save the family from one grouchy girl.. or telling me that I can try again..may be it wasn’t my day..

I want to dedicate my first post to my dad.. LOVE YOU PAPA.. !!! 🙂 , and i am sharing one of his favourite desert .. RAS MALAI.. 🙂

Rasmalai..

Rasmalai..  🙂 

Here is the recipe:

RABDI / MILK SYRUP:

Ingredients-

  • 1 litre full cream milk
  • 3 Tbsp Sugar
  • 1 tsp fine ground cardamom powder
  • 8-10 saffron strands, steeped in warm milk

Method-

Soak about 8-10 saffron strands in about a tbsp of warm milk for sometime. the saffron will give beatuiful orange colour and lovely smell and taste to the rabdi.

Bring the mil to boil, slow the gas flame and reduce the milk till it thinkens while constantly stirring it for about 15-20 minutes. Add the cardamom powder and sugar. Keep stirring the mixture. Add the saffron stands mix.

You can add chopped almonds, cashew nuts if you want. Let the mixture cool off for sometime and start off with the rasmalai  preparation..

milk syrup for rasmalai..

milk syrup for rasmalai..

RASMALAI BALLS:

Ingredients-

  • 1 litre of full cream milk
  • 2 tbsp of lemon juice

Method-

Bring the milk to boil. Add 1-2 tbsp lemon juice gradually in the milk and keep stirring the milk till the milk mass and the whey separates completely.Filter the milk mass in the sieve. Wash it with water so that all the lemon soureness is gone. Now , put the milk mass in the muslin cloth and hang it to get rid of extra liquid.

After all the liquid is drained. Take the chenna and rub it with fingers and palms till the mixture starts to give out fat..make a dough with the chenna mixture. Take small amount of the dough and make small oval shaped balls for the rasmalai.

SUGAR SYRUP FOR RASMALAI:

Ingredients-

  • 5 cups of water
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • a tbsp of cardamom powder.

Method-

Bring to boil the water and sugar , add cardamom powder. When the sugar syrup comes to boil , add the ras malai balls . Boil them covered for 10-12 minutes. You can check on the rasmalai balls by taking the lid off  in between.

Don’t add too many ras malai balls together in the container as they get double after boiling. You can do it in double batches if the number is more.

Squeeze the ras malai balls gently to get some of the water out and add them to the rabdi prepared before. Chill for a couple of hours and serve cold.. 🙂

Sweet love affair.. :)

Sweet love affair.. 🙂

 Recipe Source : http://cafegarima.wordpress.com , also known as Rasgulla Queen of the CAL group.. Thanks for providing the lovely recipe.. 🙂

Do try at home.. and enjoy the sweetness.. :)

Do try at home.. and enjoy the sweetness.. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “A SWEET DEVOURING – RAS MALAI

Leave a Reply

