Sarson da saag..

7d2bc6716f2921e31fb745fdc30a2906ff0451d0[1]

Sarson da saag.., made from mustard leaves, lots of ghee and white makhan (White butter) is a delicious a winter cuisine.A very popular dish in North India and Pakistan, sarson da saag is rich in flavours , aroma and nutrition value and is served with makki ki roti., The aroma and taste of the saag reminds you of your roots, the smell of land (our village) ,the beautiful mustard farms (in case , u haven’t been to one, try to remember the song ‘Tujhe Dekha’ with Kajol running towards Shah Rukh through the Sarso Ke Khet (Fields of Mustard) in Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge , I am sure we all love that movie and song.. 😉 ) .

A year back, If anyone would have served me sarson da saag ,I would have responded them with my “I can’t eat that” expression. I was never a great lover of the green dish, always trying to avoid whenever it was cooked at home.,( eating it outside was just out of question! ).But it all changed, after I tried my friend’s cum colleague’s mother recipe of the flavourful saag. At first I was a little sceptical for trying the saag, but thought of giving it a go.. and from that day, I was in love with sarson da saag.

Just a few days back, she brought saag in her lunch, making me super happy 🙂 .The dish reminded me that I still haven’t tried the saag myself at home and the next weekend I decided to cook the rich and flavoursome sarson da saag and it turned out really tasty..

WP_20141130_015[1]

Recipe for the Sarson da saag:

Ingredients:

  • 5 bunches of Mustard leaves, finely chopped
  • 2 bunches of spinach leaves, finely chopped
  • 1 bunch of bhathua (Goosefoot), finely chopped
  • 1 cup Maize flour (Makki ka aata )
  • 2 -3 tbsp Ghee
  • 2 -3 tbsp of Ginger, finely chopped /grated
  • 7-9 Green chillies, finely chopped (can reduce of increase the amount according to taste)
  • 2 onions , finely chopped
  • Salt( to taste)
  • 2 tbsp White butter ( trust me the more the merrier J)

Method:

  1. Heat 1 and ½ cups of water in a pot. Chop and wash all the green leaves in a pan.When the water comes to boil, add the chopped vegetable in the pot.
  2. Add 2-3 finely chopped green chillies. Mix the vegetables and cook covered for about 20-25 minutes till the saag becomes soft. Remove the pot from the heat and churn all the vegetables. Add maize flour , mash it and mix well.
  3. Now, Heat ghee in a separate pan. Add ginger and mix well. Add finely chopped green chillies and saute.
  4. Add onions in the pan and saute. Transfer the saag from pot to the pan. Mix well and cook for 15-20 minutes.
  5. Add white butter and mix well.
  6. Serve hot with makki di rotti..

Enjoy the lovely sarson da saag with makke di roti.. 🙂

WP_20141130_017[1]

 And this is how I turned into a sarson da saag lover.. 🙂 

 

 

Leave a Reply

